, , , , ,

Shadows of Our Forgotten Ancestors


An original soundtrack from the dance theatre production based on the novel by Mykhailo Kotsubynsky. Musical direction by Alexander Fedoriouk. Made possible through an Artist Project Grant from the Ohio Arts Council and with the cooperation of the Ukrainian Museum and Archives of Cleveland, OH. The traditional folk music of Ukraine featured on this soundtrack recording presents the Hutzul, Polissia, and Volyn region of Ukraine and is performed on authentic folk instruments.

“Singing folk songs arranged by members by a traditional ensemble, Nadia Tarnawsky skillfully colors her voice to portray a young girl, a country storyteller and an entire group of chattering women.”
– The Plain Dealer Cleveland, Ohio

Vasyl Geker – violin, drymba
Alexander Fedoriouk – cimbalom, buben
Andrei Pidkivka – nai, sopilka, frilka, tylynka, koza, zozylka, drymba
Mykola Kuzyk – trembita
Nadia Tarnawsky – vocals

For More Info and Booking Contact Nadia Tarnawsky: email

Shadows of Our Forgotten Ancestors
1.The Creation of the World
2. In the Mountains
3. Lullaby
4. Ivan and the Shcheznyk
5. The Battle
6. Marichka’s Theme
7. Play Musicians
8. God, Come to Us
9. Hutzulka
10. My Dear Little Songs
11. The Highland Pasture
12. The Shepherd’s Dance
13. My Dear Little Songs Reprise
14. Over the Mountain
15. My God, What am I Doing
16. Hey, Ivan
17. When You Marry, Young Man
18. The Violets Have Bloomed
19. Holubka
20. My Dear Little Songs Reprise
21. The Storm
22. I Know That I Have Sinned
23. My Dear Little Songs Reprise
24. Play Musicians Reprise
25. Hutzulka
26. Epilogue


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Shadows of Our Forgotten Ancestors”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart